Property Tax Liens In North Dakota
North Dakota is a deed state.
In some counties the county auditor is responsible for tax sales and in other counties it is the county treasurer. Properties that are not sold at auction may be available “over the counter.”
North Dakota changed the law for how many years a property can have delinquent property taxes before being sold at a tax sale from 5 years to 3 years.
This law was changed in August of 2007, but the full effect of that law will be realized this year in 2010. Properties still delinquent for 2005, 2006, or 2007 will be sold in this year’s tax sale.
The Wilson County Auditor gave me detailed information for tax sales in Wilson County: “The properties are sold at public auction in the courthouse on the third Tuesday in November.
The previous owner has until the time of the sale of that property to redeem it. If it is not redeemed it is sold to the highest bidder. The successful bidder will also be responsible for a recording fee of $13.00 (US) per property.
If the property is not sold, it is added to our inventory or sold back to the city (if a city lot). Properties may be purchased anytime after the sale, but the sales after the auction are not perfected for 30 days, until the former owner is given another chance to redeem it.
All sales are given a county deed, which is the equivalent to a quit claim deed, since the chain of title has been broken by our foreclosure.”
Only a couple of counties in North Dakota have tax sale lists or tax sale information online, but you can find assessment data and contact information online. Look for the county auditor’s or county treasurer’s web page for tax sale information, contact information and assessment information.